nominated and gazetted as candidates by the second respondent to contest for
Jinja Municipality East Constituency. At the end of the polling exercise the
following results were declared by the second respondent:

1. Hon. Igeme Nathan Samson Nabeta 8,203 votes (49.52 %).
2. Mwiru Paul 7,060 votes (42.62 %).
3. Dhikusoka Cranimer 378 votes (2.28 %).
4. Mugabi Cyrus 296 votes (1.78%).
5. Waiswa Alex Mufumbiro 262 votes (1.58 %).

6. Nagaya Moses 135 votes (0.81%)
7. Osinde Oyo Ritchie 127 votes (0.77 %)
8. Mudago Rogers 105 votes (0.63%).

Consequently the second respondent declared the first respondent as the duly
elected Member of Parliament for Jinja Municipality East Constituency. He
name was gazetted in the Uganda Gazette of 21st February 2011. He was sworn
in and he is currently the Member of Parliament for that constituency.

The appellant was dissatisfied with the outcome and on 16th March 2011, he

filed a petition in the High Court Jinja Circuit under sections 4, 60, 61(a) (c)
(d), 62 and 63 of the Parliamentary Elections Act (PEA) (Act 17/05)
challenging the outcome. The main thrust of the appellant’s case was that the

Select target paragraph3